A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{December 31, 2013}   Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

hyperbole_and_a_half_book_1Is there anyone on the internet that doesn’t know about Brosh’ blog Hyperbole and a Half? I’ve been a fan of her comic blog posts for a long time and when I finally got my hands on her new book, I tore through it. It contains some of the highlights from her blog, such as her explanation of depression and “Dogs Don’t Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving” as well as new selections. Each is as funny and oddly insightful as the last, though my favorite is probably “Dinosaur (The Goose Story)” which had me in stitches. I always knew the geese were psychopaths. Brosh is delightfully candid about her failings and her quirks and her simple art is charming and perfectly suited to her humour. It’s comic genius, really.

Her stories are all fun to read on their own but I got a special thrill out of reading them out loud to my boyfriend. These are jokes meant to be shared.

I’m already hoping for a second book.

2013 (#70)

I have heard good things about this book! Glad to see you enjoyed it!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
