A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{June 6, 2013}   BEA 2013

603I’m back from New York! (Well, I have been for 4 days but a girl’s got to work and spend time with her friends.)

This was another great BEA. I saw a few people that I only see when I go and met some new awesome book-loving people. If you ended up here after meeting me in line, welcome!

Some highlights of the show:

  • Getting up at 6 am to stand in line to get in… Ok, that’s not a highlight, more of a tradition.
  • Meeting some of my favorite authors, including Kendare Blake, Diana Peterfreund, David Levithan, Gene Luen Yang, Oliver Jeffers, Elizabeth Wein, Paolo Bacigalupi and Robin Wasserman (sadly not Holly Black).
  • I actually met Oliver Jeffers twice! After also meeting him in Toronto in January… I may be stalking him a little.
  • Robyn Schneider is as smiley and friendly as on Youtube. 🙂
  • I met Grumpy Cat! She may have had the longest line at BEA.
  • I met Elizabeth Wein by accident at the Disney booth. (Me (seeing someone holding an arc): “Are you already giving out Rose Under Fire?!” Staff member: “Um… no… that’s the author.”) She was nice, and wearing a spitfire necklace.
  • Chatting with strangers in line.
  • I got a balloon dog. I named him Charlie.
  • Spotting Mo Willems at Penn Station while waiting for my train. Almost screaming his name like he’s a rock star.
  • Bringing home over 100lbs of books. (One of my suitcases broke and could no longer be pulled. I have a very nice boyfriend.)

Some reactions to finding out I’m Canadian:

  • “That reminds me that I want to meet Gordon Korman. Is he here?” (Yes he was there.)
  • “Montreal is beautiful! But I couldn’t live there. I’m from Texas, it would kill me.”
  • “That’s sooooo far.” (Not really)
  • “Oh, I like poutine!”
  • “My cousin is a librarian in Ottawa, do you know him?” (No, there are almost 400 librarians working in my library; I don’t even know all of them.)
  • “I wish our malls were underground.” (Yeah, that’s cool… but New York’s subway is way better.)
  • And an employee at The Empire State Building was adorably excited to be able to talk to me in French.

The 10 BEA books I’m most excited about reading:

  • Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund
  • Antigoddess by Kendare Blake
  • The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider
  • The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black
  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Invisibility by Andrea Cramer and David Levithan
  • The Lost Kingdom by Matthew J. Kirby
  • Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
  • The Song of the Quarkbeast by Jasper Fford
  • Zombie Baseball Beatdown by Paolo Bacigalupi
Leave a Reply

et cetera
