A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{May 14, 2013}   The BFG by Roald Dahl

BFGPlot: One night Sophie awakens during the witching hour and sees a giant wandering the streets. He kidnaps her and takes her to the land of the giants. But her captor, the Big Friendly Giant, means her no harm. Together they hatch a plan to stop the nine nasty giants that he shares his homeland with from eating any more humans.

The more Dahl I read, the more I wish I could have met the man just once. He strikes me as someone quite imaginative with a wicked sense of humour.

The BFG is full of humour, magic and silly word games. The BFG’s references to ridiculous things like “human beans” and “whizzpopping” had me in stitches. And I for one will be crying out “deliver us from weasels” at every possible opportunity. 😀 I should have been horrified by his description of the taste of humans all over the world (which border on the offensive: the Greeks are greasy apparently >_<), but even that brought a smile to my lips.

The fantastical elements – horrible man-eating giants and dream catching – are quite fun and I love that the little orphan Sophie defeats the giants through courage and cleverness. I’ll let you discover how she does it on your own. I’ll finish with a mention of the queen’s butler because he’s so very good under pressure.

This is probably one of my favorite Dahl books, right up there with Matilda and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. It was well constructed and just plain fun. I’m quickly running out of Dahl to read but look for Danny the champion of the World (which I have heard Kenneth Oppel call his favorite children’s book) and The Witches in the near future.

2013 (#25)

Leave a Reply

et cetera
