A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{February 10, 2013}   Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

shiverThis is an audiobook re-read. It was narrated by David LeDoux and Jenna Lamia.

I listened to Shiver as I did my housework over the past few weeks (highly recommended, it makes washing the dishes a lot less painful). This is a great book to listen to. Stiefvater uses beautiful language (especially in Sam’s voice, as Sam is a song writer and poet) and it really comes through when read aloud. Sam once tells Grace (and I’m paraphrasing wildly here) that poetry is more about how things sound than the specific words, and that’s how listening to Shiver felt at times.

I wasn’t sure about the voices at first. Jenna Lamia also read The Adoration of Jenna Fox and I felt the character of Jenna suited her better than Grace, but it grew on me. She alternated narration with LeDoux just as the book alternated between Grace and Sam’s PoV.

I reviewed this book 2 and a half years ago, so I won’t do it all over again. You can read my review here. But I will say that after all this time and all the books, Shiver is still my favorite werewolf romance. I think Stiefvater has done something unique and romantic without the machismo usually associated with werewolves. It feels natural and beautiful, even when it’s painful.

And now I’ll finally be able to get back into the series. Linger and Forever are sitting on my book shelf and I look forward to reading them.

2013 (#15)

Leave a Reply

et cetera
