A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{December 30, 2012}   Comics and manga of the week (72 & 73)

Blankets_coverBlankets by Craig Thompson

  • I have no words to describe how beautiful this auto-biographic comic about family, love and faith is. Craig’s art is beautiful and expressive, made in detailed blacks and whites. And his story defies simplicity. This is a comic for curling up on a snowy day and just immersing yourself. Highly recommended.

Captain Marvel, volume 1: In Pursuit of Flight by Kelly Sue DeConnick

  • Carol Danvers takes on the mantle of Captain Marvel but when a trip through time offers her the possibility of being a normal woman again will she give up her powers? This is a comic bursting with brash, ambitious fly girls who, like Carol, always strive higher. I’m really loving the new look and energy!

Chew, volume 6: Space Cakes by John Layman and Rob Guillory

  • Our cibopathic (he can see the history of anything by eating it) FDA investigator, Tony Chu is in the hospital and his twin sister Toni, who can see the future of living things by biting them, has taken over his adventures. But someone is collecting people with special powers (think Syler in Heroes) and Toni has seen her own future, it isn’t good. This isn’t my favorite volume of Chew: I miss Tony and I’m not happy with the ending. But Layman and Guillory continue to offer us something unique, funny and exciting (and quite often gross). This remains one of the best series on my pull list. The volume also includes a 3-issue miniseries about Poyo, the kick-ass cybernetic rooster now working for the USDA. I love that this series doesn’t take itself too seriously.

Journey into Mystery, volume 4: The Manchester Gods by Kieron Gillen

  • Gillen is quickly becoming one of my favorite writers at Marvel and Journey into Mystery one of my favorite comics. Give me this and X-Factor and I’ll be a happy girl. In this volume, Loki is sent by the All-Mother to help the Old Gods of Britain defeat the modernizing forces that threaten them. Being Loki he doesn’t solve the problem as people expected or wanted. 😀 This volume also contains the Thor annual which I honestly could have done without.

Mass Effect, volume 4: Homeworlds

  • This volume collects 4 shorts staring Vega, Tali, Garrus and Liara and tells the tale of their childhoods and the events that lead up to Mass Effect 3. I’m not crazy about the art but the stories are exciting and star some of my favorite characters. It makes me want to play the series over again.

Princeless: Short Stories for Warrior Women, issue 2 of 2

  • I don’t usually buy issues but I’ve really been loving the Princeless series so much that I couldn’t resist this 2-issue short story collection. In this issue, a lonely elf-girl saves a prince, we learn about Bedelia’s family and we get a preview of Princeless volume 2. I can’t wait!

Sailor Twain or The Mermaid in the Hudson by Mark Siegel

  • Long ago Poseidon punished 3 mermaids by shackling them to fresh-water rivers. The worst of them was sent to the Hudson where she must win the heart of a human to be free again. Sailor Twain, who captains a steamboat on the Hudson, may be the man she is looking for. In Siegel’s comic, Twain tells this unbelievable and tragic tale of love and monsters. The art takes some getting used to, wavering between graphic and the caricature but it doesn’t detract from this beautiful, tragic tale. I was a bit disappointed, however, in the slightly ambiguous ending.
Leave a Reply

et cetera
