A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{July 1, 2012}   Team Human by Justine Larbalestier and Sarah Rees Brennan

Plot: People get the wrong idea about New Whitby. The town may have been founded by vampires but Mel has never met one. That is until Francis Duvarney enters her school. When her best friend Cathy starts falling for their vampire classmate, Mel knows that it cannot end well. She plans to do everything in her power to keep Cathy from making a mistake that she might regret for an eternity. As if that weren’t enough to keep her busy, she is investigating a mysterious disappearance for another friend and falling for a strange boy who was raised by vampires.

At this point I would read anything that Justine Larbalestier and Sarah Rees Brennan write. They are both amazing writers who only seem to get better with every book they put out. When I learned that they were writing a book together I was practically trembling with excitement. And when I finally got my hands on the book a few days ago, I marathoned it.

In many ways Team Human is a parody of vampire romances. It lovingly pokes fun at the conventions of the genre as only someone who knows well it can (starting with Francis’ antiquated speech and manners). It is hilarious, from the chapter headings to the amazingly witty dialogue. But it is so much more.

Rees Brennan gives us another of her awesome lady sleuths (read my review of her forthcoming novel, Unspoken, for more girl investigators). Can I say how much I love them in general and Mel in particular? She is funny and loyal and stubborn, always determined to help her friends, no matter how bad their problems. The mystery she gets caught up in is engrossing, exciting and just a little disturbing.

Mel has her own romance as well, though she resists it. But I doubt anyone can resist Kit for long. I couldn’t: I’m completely smitten with him. I can’t think of many male leads I’ve liked this much. Like Mel I love a man with a sense of humour; Kit is not only funny but his surprised delight when people laugh at his jokes is absolutely charming. Kit and Mel have some great banter and he loves teasing Francis as much as she does. He is also a great sidekick and a very unique, refreshing kind of love interest. Go Team Kit!

This was an amazing book. If you don’t believe me, go read the first chapter here. I suspect you’ll be hooked.

I have no book trailer to offer you but there is already some amazing fanart out there! Street Angel has drawn many of the images, including my favorite, This is me calling you (warning: spoilers). That smile at the end! Excuse me, I think I might melt. Kit *happy sigh*.

2012 (#66)

Title: Team Human

Author: Justine Larbalestier (http://justinelarbalestier.com/) & Sarah Rees Brennan (http://sarahreesbrennan.com/)

Publisher: Harper Teen

Year: 2012

ISBN: 978-0-06-208964-9

Leave a Reply

et cetera
