A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{June 10, 2012}   Comics and manga of the week (44)

Since I spent the week in New York and brought no comics with me (I needed the luggage space for the books I was planing to bring back), I only have one comic for you this week. But don’t fret, it’s a good one!

Drama by Raina Telgemeier

This review is based on an ARC received at BEA 2012.

Callie loves the theater and dreams of creating beautiful sets worthy of a Broadway stage. She gets her chance when she is made set designer for her middle school production of Moon over Mississippi. But the budget is tight, ticket sales are low and there is tension between crew members. There’s also drama off-stage as Callie grow closer to two cute and talented twin brothers.

Telgameier’s comic Smile was beautifully written and drawn and just perfect for my middle grade readers. Drama is, impossibly, ten times better. Engaging characters, touching friendships, (cute boys!), and a fascinating introduction to theater arts all fluidly recounted with simple, expressive art. The story has an unconventional, but still very happy ending (the best kind of ending imho). Bravo.

Don’t believe me? This is what happened when I read my ARC in a little mexican retaurant with truly mind-blowing margaritas (90% tequilla, I swear). (Yes, I eat alone in restaurants and read. Shut up. 😉 )

Waitress: What are you reading?

Me: Drama by Raina Telgemeier. It’s a comic about love, friendship and the theater.

Waitress: Looks good!

Me: It is. But it isn’t out yet, unfortunately. (Note: it will be released in Septemeber 2012)

Waitress: *sad face*

So there you have it: I was so engrossed, even my waitress wanted to read it.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
