A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{June 3, 2012}   Tune – Volume 1: Vanishing Point by Derek Kirk Kim

Plot: Andy Go was a art major with OCD and a crush on a friend from class. One year before graduation, he drops out of college (to the despair of his Korean parents, ai-goo!) in order to pursue a career as an illustrator. But when that doesn’t work out, his parents start pressuring him to find a job, any job. He was about to give up when he finally finds a position that is out of this world, literally.

This review is based on an ARC provided by Netgalley.

I don’t usually do full reviews for comics (I read too many to keep up!) but since this was a review copy, I decided to do things a little differently.

First Second puts out some real quality comics so I had high hopes for Kim’s work. It didn’t disappoint. The majority of the book is a simple story about following your dreams and unrequited love (and can I say that I was almost as charmed by kind, quirky Yumi as Andy was?). There are many comics like it but this one is well done. Kim’s art is clean and effective and the story is told with real humour.

“But Mooooooooom. They want to dehumanize me and strip me of my dignity!”

“What you expect? You apply for job!”

I would have enjoyed Tune if there were nothing more to the story. But then Kim adds a quirky bit of science fiction to frame the story. You can tell right away that there is something otherworldly going on: all his panels are floating in a starscape. We don’t learn much about this other world and the strange aliens he encounters but it was just enough to wet my apetite for more.

A very fun, quirky comic.

This first volume of Tune ends on a cliffhanger. I look forward to seeing how Andy adapts to his new job in a parallel universe. You can read the online version here.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
