A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{April 18, 2012}   Waiting on Wednesdays: The Raven Boys

Title: The Raven Boys

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic

Release date: September 18th, 2012

Plot: Blue grew up in a house full of mediums and fortune tellers but her only skill is enhancing the powers of others. Her mother’s fortunes are imprecise but they always come true. And she has predicted that Blue’s true love will die after she kisses him. While sitting vigil on Saint-Mark’s Eve, she sees the spirit of a boy who will die in the upcoming year. The only reason a non-seer might see a spirit is if he is her true love or if she killed him. Given the prophesy hanging over her, it may be both.

Why I’m waiting: Maggie Stiefvater is an amazing author. She brought new life to the werewolf myth in Shiver and she blew me away with her man-eating horse story, The Scorpio Races. This new story seems to have everything: magic, mystery, hot boys and a variety of interesting female characters.

You can read the first few chapters here. The writing is brilliant right from the start and I’ve already grown attached to Blue. I dare you not to fall in love with this book.

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine. I plan to participate for the next year at least (because my to read pile really needs to be longer ;P). If you’d like to join in, grab a graphic, write a post and leave a link on her site.

tinalinatime says:

I loved the Wolves of Mercy Falls series and have heard Maggie Stiefvater talking about The Raven Boys on Twitter. Sounds interesting 🙂



starryeyedjen29 says:

I read that two chapter excerpt on EW last week and immediately went to preorder it. 🙂 Sounds soooooooo good! I really can’t wait for this one…I love any and EVERYthing Maggie writes! Great pick!

Here’s my WoW post. Happy Wednesday!



Oh, Maggie Stiefvater! I’m not sure if I want to read this one or not, but I’ll read the first two chapters this weekend. Downloaded them onto my Kindle when Maggie blogged about ’em and now I’m curious enough.. *g*

Patricia // My WOW



I WANT THIS. NOWWWW! I recently purchased a whole stack of Maggie Steifvater books- currently reading Shiver and I like it!

My WoW: http://www.pocketfulofbooks.com/2012/04/waiting-on-wednesday_18.html



Majanka says:

I love Maggie Stiefvater’s books. Im’ sure this one will be great as well! Great pick!

Check out my WoW



I’ve been looking forward to this one ever since the cover was revealed. I like her simple yet beautiful writing style so yaaay September!

Aleksandra and her WoW



Katie says:

This book looks interesting. I’ve read both her faerie and her werewolf series.

My WOW: http://breathofbooks.blogspot.com/



fakesteph says:

This one looks awesome! I’m excited for it too!



I love Maggie Stiefvater! I’ve seen this one around a couple of times today and each post is making me more and more excited. Thanks for the link to the first few chapers!
-Allie

My choice this week.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
