A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{April 11, 2012}   Waiting on Wednesdays: The Drowned Cities

Title: The Drowned Cities

Author: Paolo Bacigalupi

Publisher: Little Brown

Release date: May 1st 2012

Plot: In a dark future America where violence, terror, and grief touch everyone, young refugees Mahlia and Mouse have managed to leave behind the war-torn lands of the Drowned Cities by escaping into the jungle outskirts. But when they discover a wounded half-man–a bioengineered war beast named Tool–who is being hunted by a vengeful band of soldiers, their fragile existence quickly collapses. One is taken prisoner by merciless soldier boys, and the other is faced with an impossible decision: Risk everything to save a friend, or flee to a place where freedom might finally be possible.

Why I’m waiting: Ship Breaker was an amazing, beautifully written post-apocalyptic novel. This companion deals with a character who fascinated me in the first book. I look forward to learning more about him and about his fate.

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine. I plan to participate for the next year at least (because my to read pile really needs to be longer ;P). If you’d like to join in, grab a graphic, write a post and leave a link on her site.

Sweeping Me says:

Sounds like a great book. Right up my alley, terror – grief and just horror…
Mary
http://sweepingme.com/2012/04/waiting-on-wednesday-3/



I haven’t read Ship Breaker yet, b ut from what I can tell, I should definitely change that. 😀 Thanks for sharing!

Patricia // My WOW



I’ve never heard of that before, but it looks interesting! Great pick 🙂

Here’s my WoW!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
