A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{April 8, 2012}   Freebies and previews!

I’ve been a bit less prolific in my review writing in the past few weeks and for that I apologize. I blame the mother of all colds which has kept me in bed when I wasn’t at work. It was even bad enough to slow my reading! I have a few reviews coming, including my re-reading of A Clash of Kings, the second book of Bayern, Enna Burning, and a veritable mountain of manga.

But while you wait for those, I highly recommend you check out the following freebies:

Unspoken

  • Go here to read the first 3 chapters of Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan. If you’re anything like me, you’ll be slavering at the mouth for the rest of this novel about Kami, a girl journalist who hears a voice in her head that may or may not belong to a real boy, and the mysterious Lynburn family. Do be warned, the book only comes out in September 2012. And even then, we’ll have to wait for the sequel. Such sweet torture.

The Calling

  • HarperTeen has also released the first 8 chapters of The Calling by Kelley Armstrong which, fortunately, will be released on April 10th 2012. You may recall it was my Waiting on Wednesday this week.

The New World

  • Finally, for those of you who enjoyed Patrick Ness’ Chaos Walking series (I suspect that would be anyone who read it), I suggest you check out The New World, a free short story that recounts Viola’s less than pleasant arrival on the planet. I got it off the Sony eBook Store and most other ebook stores will have it. You can also download the pdf here.

Good reading!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
