A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{January 8, 2012}   Comics and manga of the week (20 & 21)

I’ve been reading a lot of novels lately, so I didn’t have enough comics and manga for a list last week. Therefore, I offer you two weeks in one. It’s mostly manga and it includes some real jems.

Fullmetal Alchemist, volume 27 by Hiromu Arakawa

  • This is the final volume of an amazing, heartbreaking series where steampunk meets alchemy. If you like manga at all, you should read this.

Onmyoji, volume 1 & 2 (French) by Reiko Okano

  • A manga about Abe no Seimei a magician who lived in 10th century Japan. It’s a beautiful manga that will teach you a lot about Heian period and this fascinating historical figure (who apparently had a wicked sense of humour).

Oresame Teacher, volume 6 by Izumi Tsubaki

  • The real reason for the public morals committee is revealed and Mafuyu finally gets the chance to be a regular high school student. A silly series that seems to be headed for a conclusion.

Sakura Hime, volume 5 by Arina Tanemura

  • This volume focuses on Kohaku, the ninja girl, as she is reunited with a childhood friend who has become an immortal servant of the moon. Will her sense of duty to the prince and to humanity allow her to fight, to kill her friend?

Skip Beat, volume 26 by Yoshiki Nakamura

  • There is a new member in the Love Me unit and Kyoko has been given a dangerous task: become the sister of Tsuruga’s alter ego. It is Tsuruga, however, who has the most trouble keeping to his role. I never get tired of this hilarious anti-romance, I’m already eager for the next volume.

xxxHolic, volume 18 by Clamp

  • My favorite Clamp series is coming close to an end. Watanuki, now ageless, continues to grant wishes to the clients of his shop… for a price.
Ha, I know and love all of these series, except for Onmyoji, which I will now look into. I’m significantly behind on most of them, though– since my local Borders closed down, there’s been no awesome buy-two-get-one-free manga sales and no extremely knowledgeable employees to point me towards new series. *sigh*



roguelibrarian says:

I get my manga from my Local Comic Book Store (where everyone really does know my name) and we’re pretty spoiled in Montreal because we have access to French language manga too. I buy way too much, in both languages. ^_^



Leave a Reply

et cetera
