A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{April 7, 2011}   The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong

Plot: Maya lives in a small research town on Vancouver Island. She doesn’t miss big city life; she is perfectly happy in the nature preserve her Dad runs. But strange things have started happening – the drowning of the captain of the swim team, the increasing appearance of cougars and her best friend Daniel’s “vibes” – and Maya is determined to get to the bottom of it.

This book is Armstrong’s newest YA series, taking place in the same universe as The Darkest Powers series. It arrived on Wednesday and, even though I was enjoying Going Bovine by Libba Bray, I had to put it aside and read it immediately. I finished it at 3 am. So yes, I liked it. ^_^

The book is fast paced with lots of action and mystery (though it’s clear from the start that Maya is a were-cougar… so clear that I don’t even consider it a spoiler. The bigger question is: what is everyone else?! And what are the scientists researching?!). Maya is a great character, as is her friend Daniel. They are both complex and conflicted, very likable but with real flaws. I also loved the romance: I fell a bit for Rafe myself, to be honest. But I especially appreciated that their love is not fated and not easy. I forsee more passion and more trouble in their future.

The story draws a lot on Native mythology (both Maya and Rafe are Native americans) which I find very interesting. I look forward to how Armstrong will develop that particular angle.

The mystery is just kicking off as the book comes to an end, many questions remain to be answered about Maya and Rafe’s mystical heritage and about the research being conducted in the research town. I’m already looking forward to the next book.

If anyone is concerned that this is just the Darkest Powers series all over again, they can put their concerns to rest. It does take place in the same universe, it concerns supernatural teens and the Eddison group is sure to make an appearance eventually but the characters and the atmosphere is completely different.

The book trailer looks really professional but I find that it misrepresents the characters personnalities…

Challenges: Canadian YA Challenge (5)

Leave a Reply

et cetera
