A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{March 10, 2011}   Naomi & Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Plot: Naomi and Ely have been inseparable since their earliest childhood. To protect their friendship, they created the No Kiss List – a list that makes certain people off limits. Only the list should probably have included Naomi’s boyfriend, Bruce the Second, and Ely himself. For Naomi is in love with Ely and Ely loves boys. One little kiss with the wrong person may tear the friends apart forever.

This duo of writers was made famous by Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, now a major motion picture. I haven’t read it yet but if it is anything like this collaboration, I look forward to it.

Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List is written in alternating narrators (including Naomi and Ely, of course, but also their love interests and rivals), each with it’s own unique perspective and voice. It is a story full of feelings, some of them not very pretty but all of them real.

To finish, I’d like to share a passage that resonated with me. So many books want to tell us about fated and eternal loves, I was pleased to find a different perspective:

“There’s no such thing as a soulmate… and who would want there to be? I don’t want to be half of a shared soul. I want my own damn soul.

I think I’m going to learn to appreciate the word close. Because that’s what Naomi and I are. We’re close. Not all the way there. Not identical. Not soulmates. But close. Because that’s as far as you should ever get with another person: very, very close.” p 224

Challenges:  The Into the Old World Challenge (15), GLBT Challenge (2)

[…] Naomi & Ely's No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan « A … Plot: Naomi and Ely have been inseparable since their earliest childhood. To protect their friendship, they created the No Kiss List – a list that makes certain people off limits. Only the list should probably have […]



[…] in believable teen voices. I’ve already enjoyed Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares and Naomi and Eli’s No Kiss List (and I’m glad I waited to find the non-movie cover for this one, it’s a very effective, […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
