A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{January 1, 2011}   My 2011 Challenges

First off is the GLBT challenge 2011. I plan on reading at least 12 GLBT novels this year. (In 2010 I read 19 GLBT novels if you include books like Tithe and City of Glass that have queer characters in secondary roles, 13 if you don’t.)

You can join this challenge here. There will be prizes.

Second is the Quirky Brown Reading Challenge 2011. This challenges encourages people to read books by Black authors depicting an off-beat Black experience. There are different levels of participation but I’m trying for 5+ books.

You can sign up here and also find a list of suggested books.

I haven’t chosen my books yet but there seem to be some interesting ones on the list. If anyone has some YA or Canadian suggestions to add, let me know.

Next, the YA Historical Challenge. She suggests 3 levels of reading: you can try for 5, 10 or 15 YA historical fiction in 2011. I want to be adventurous and say level 3 but considering all my other challenges, I’ll try for 10 for now. My only question is this: do supernatural historical fiction count (for example the Gemma Doyle series)?

You can sign up here and she’s got several lists to help you get started.

The East and South East Asian challenge is a bit less demanding. I need to read at least 3 novels taking place in an East or South East Asian country (Hong Kong, Japan, Macau, Mongolia, North Korea, People’s Republic of China, Taiwan, South Korea, Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, East Timor (Timor-Leste), Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam). You can read more but the first three need to be from different countries. Japan won’t be a problem, I’ll have fun looking up the rest.

You can find the rules and sign up here.

Next is the 2011 Futuristic/Sci-Fi challenge. The goal of this challenge is to read novels that take place in the future or on an alternate planet. This challenge also has three levels. I’m going for Dweller: 12 novels.

I already have several eligible books on my waiting list so it should be fun.

You can sign up here.

Finally, The Into the Old World Challenge. The goal of this challenge is to read any books published before 2009.

It should help me to polish off my to be read pile. Books can be in any genre and there is no minimum number (although I have several on my shelf).

You can sign up here.

Here is my tentative list: The Lives of Christopher Chant by Diana Wynne Jones, The House of Many Ways by Diana Wynne Jones, The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill, Coin Locker Babies by Ryu Murakami, The Seeing Stone by Kevin Crossley-Holland, True Confessions of a Heartless Girl by M. Brooks, Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi, Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, The Wolves of Woden by Alison Baird and The Secret Atlas by Michael A. Stackpole.

There are many, many more books that I could include but I’ll stop there for now.

And don’t forget about my Canadian YA challenge!

YA Bliss says:

Thanks for joining the Challenge! Good luck 😉



Leave a Reply

et cetera
