A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{December 18, 2010}   Liar by Justine Larbalestier

Plot: Micah is a liar. She has lied so much that no one believes anything she says anymore. But after her boyfriend is brutally killed, Micah is ready to tell the whole truth. No more lies or omissions, promised.

This book has put Justine Larbalestier up there in my list of favorite authors for teens. It is the best story with an unreliable narrator that I have ever read and I’m still reeling from it after half a day.

Micah fooled me, several times. I thought I could believe her. Which is silly, of course, she’s a compulsive liar. But I don’t even know when she is lying about lying and we have only her word for anything. When I reached the end of the novel, I wasn’t quite sure what had really happened anymore. Usually I would call that a poorly plotted novel, in this case I would call Micah, and by extension Larbalestier, a masterful liar.

I don’t reread many books. There are too many books and too little time. But I feel that this is a book that will reveal more on a second reading.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
