A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{September 27, 2010}   Banned Book Week 2010

It’s banned book week again, the week when librarians protest extra loudly for people’s right to read whatever the hell they want.

I plan to celebrate it by reading at least one of this years banned books in the next few days. (I may also take a picture of myself with a few banned books when I don’t look like I just walked home in the rain).

After glancing at the list, I find that I have already read the first banned book  (in alphabetical order): The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. I’m off to a good start. I haven’t picked the one I will read this week yet but I promise in advance that I will not be reading the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary which is on the list. I kid you not.

Edit: I ended up choosing Geography Club by Brent Hartinger which I found in my library, though in the adult section rather than the YA section. (To be fair to my colleagues, though I would have put in YA, teens can borrow from both sections). I’ll have a review up in a couple of days.

Check out the list here, read your own banned book and come back to tell me about it.

Good reading!

(This list is American but Canada has it’s own share of challenged and banned books. Let us not forget that in Quebec, the church still tried to control what we could read  well into the 20th century.)

[…] This was my selection from the 2009-2010 list of most banned books which I read in celebration of Banned Book Week. […]



H.L.Fatnassi says:

Ugg, banned books and the things that end up on that list. :-/ I hadn’t realized the extent to which these lists effect Canada and Québec too.

How do the libraries you’ve worked out handle banned reading lists? Do they ignore them?



roguelibrarian says:

We ignore lists. If a patron makes a formal complaint of a book, we will consider it and reevaluate the book. But if the book fits within our collection development policy, we keep it. If parents want to teach their kids a certain set of morals, let them police the books they may read. We refuse to.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
