A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{January 19, 2010}   A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

Plot: Gemma is 16 and has spent all her life in India. She feels that it is high time that she be allowed to return to England and be presented to society. Her mother does not agree. It looks as though she might never see London. Then everything changes. Gemma has a vision for the first time and her mother is murdered under mysterious circumstances. Before she can come to grips with what had happened, she is shipped of to a boarding school in England. She doesn’t fit in and she has no idea how to deal with her visions or her mother’s death. To make matters worse, an attractive young Indian man is following her, insisting that she not use her new powers. She doesn’t trust him and Spence School is far too involved in the mystery for her to ignore it. She and three of her classmates begin exploring the occult but they must be careful not to repeat the past.

I’m a huge Jane Austen fan so I picked this up mainly because it reminded me of Austen. But in truth it is a bit more like the sensational Gothic novels that Austen picks fun at than her own books. Not that that’s a bad thing, necessarily. I didn’t get into the story right away but once I did I enjoyed it a great deal. The magic and the history surrounding it is interesting and she does seem to have a good feel for Victorian England. I liked the girls, even though they all have unlikable aspects to them, although I was a bit frustrated by their need to always make the wrong choice in spite of advice to the contrary. And what is the fascination with love interests who are bossy stalkers? I’d love to see more who are gentle, funny, intelligent… I can’t be the only one?

[…] you loved the Gemma Doyle series (A Great and Terrible Beauty, Rebel Angels and The Sweet Far Thing) as I did, you will enjoy this book. It takes place during […]



H.L.Fatnassi says:

Still one of my favorite series out there. You know you read a really good book when over a year later you still wish you were reading it. Thanks for recommending it to me. I drop this book on anyone willing to listen to me rant about it for thirty seconds. 😉



roguelibrarian says:

Hehe it is really good and I’ve come to love Libba Bray (her newest Beauty Queens is sitting at the top of my to read pile). Besides it seemed a perfect fit for you; I’m glad I was right. 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
