A Rogue Librarian's Reading List











{January 17, 2010}   Book trailers

I’m rather fond of this new marketing idea of creating movie trailers for books. I’ve seen brilliant ones and bad ones but on the whole I think it’s a nice new way of promoting books in the Youtube era. So when I come across interesting ones, I’ll post them here.

This is my favorite book trailer so far, for Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters. In part it’s because I’m a huge Jane Austen fan but mostly, the video is just so well done. If all book trailers were like this…

This is the book I’m reading right now, A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray. I’ll post about it once I’m done.

This trailer is a bit less exciting, though it shows off the gorgeous artwork in Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan. I’m posting it here because I fell in love with the book the moment I started reading it. The characters, the art, the steampunk atmosphere and Westerfeld’s mastery of WWI era history come together to create a beautiful and exciting book.

You can read the first 9 chapters for free on the Simon & Schuster website. That’s how they got me.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
